Skip to content
Try Kitsu Free

Managing Productions

Create a New Production

Click on the Create a new production button:

Create a production

A dialog appears:

Add a production

Enter your production name, choose a Production Type, and select your production style (2D, 3D).

Then, you must fill in technical information, such as the number of FPS, the Ration, and the Resolution.

All these data will be used when Kitsu re-encodes the video previews uploaded.

Then, you need to define your production's start and end dates.

You can define your production workflow in the next part, 3 to 6.

You need to select your asset task type (3), shot task type (4), task status (5), and asset types (6).

Add a production Pipeline

TIP

To create your Production Workflow, you will select Task Types from the Global Library.

If you realize you missed some Task Types, you can create them later.

See the Studio Workflow section.

Then, 7 and 8 are the option parts. If you already have a spreadsheet with your asset/shot.

See the Import from CSV sections of each entity page for more details:

Validate everything with the All done button.

all done button

Using Production Templates

Getting a new production set up often means repeating the same configuration steps over and over like choosing task types for shots and assets, defining task statuses, and adjusting project-wide settings to match your team's workflow.

With Project Templates, you can start from a predefined setup in one click:

When creating a new production, simply pick a template and Kitsu will automatically apply your preferred settings.

In the example above, the template comes bundled with pre-configured asset types, task types, task statuses, etc. we don't need to pick manually from the Global Library:

Check out the section Create Your Own Production Template below to add your own.

Configure Production-Specific Settings

From the Navigation Menu, choose on the dropdown menu the Setting.

Drop Down menu Setting

The first tab, Parameters allows you to change the Technical information of the production.

WARNING

If you change the FPS or Resolution after uploading previews, the changes won't be applied; you must reupload the first previews.

Setting Parameters

Here, you can enable specific options for the production like:

  • Isolate Client Comments (Not Visible To Each Other)
  • Allow Artists To Download Previews
  • Set New Preview As Entity Thumbnail Automatically

You can also specify the Maximum Number of Retakes for this production.

TIP

You can also change the avatar of the production on the Parameters tab.

Artist Board Status Configuration

When you assign a task to an artist, it will appear on their to-do page when they log in.

While the default view shows their tasks in a traditional list view, they can also choose to display their tasks in a board view. Each Status will be be represented by a column, and the assigned tasks will be cards that can be dragged from status to status as the tasks progress.

To customize the board view, go to the settings page of your production.

Setting page

In the Task Status tab, you can reorder the statuses for the Board view.

You can drag and move the statuses to change their order as they appear in the board view.

Setting status new

Setting status order

Once it's done, go to the Board Status tab.

Setting board status order

Here, you can choose which permission roles can see which statuses on their Board view

If you don't select the status properly, it can be overwhelming for the artists if they have too much choice.

Board status bad example

Selecting the Status properly will make it easier for the artists.

Setting board status order

Board status good example

TIP

Customizing which statuses appear in the Board view is set per permission role. It cannot be customized on an individual user basis.

Close a Production (Archive)

It's good practice to archive a production once it's over, in case you need to reuse assets or other production elements in the next one.

First, click on the Edit button for the target production in the Main Menu > Studio > Productions page:

production edit button

In the dialog, select Closed for the production status and click Confirm:

close production

Your production is now listed as Closed.

Delete a Production

Deleting a production requires you close it first.

Once this is done, simply click the Delete button in the corresponding closed production list item and your production will be removed from your instance:

delete production

Create Your Own Production Template

Go to Main Menu > Admin > Templates to manage your production templates.

To create a new one, click the Add a production template button and fill in the form:

  • Name: your template name
  • Type: Short, TV Show, Feature Film, Only Assets, or Only Shots
  • Style: 2D Animation, 2D Animation (Paper), 3D Animation, 2D/3D Animation, VFX, Commercial, Virtual Reality, Motion Design, Archviz, Stop Motion, Catalog, NFT collection, Video Game, Immersive Experience, or Augmented Reality
  • Description: a short description of your template

Click Confirm to save your template for future usage.